‘First Since Bolt’ Lyles Won the Men’s 100 and 200m

‘First since Bolt’ Lyles won the men’s 100 and 200m… 200 m, 3 consecutive wins

Jackson won the women’s 200m in 21.41… Rojas ,

0.07 seconds closer to Griffith Joyner’s world record,

4th straight women’s triple jump…

Japan’s Kitaguchi wins women’s javelin throw

Noah Lyles

Noah Lyles (26, USA) won the 100m and 200m single world championships for the first time since the ‘Emperor’ Usain Bolt (37, Jamaica).

He also succeeded in winning his third consecutive 200m title,

which was not achieved by anyone other than the bolt. 카지노사이트

Lyles won the men’s 200m final at the 2023 World Championships in Athletics held at the National Stadium in Budapest, Hungary on the 26th (Korean time) in 19.52 seconds.

Following the 2019 Doha and 2022 Eugene Games,

he completed three consecutive men’s 200m gold medals at the World Championships in Athletics.

Lyles is the fifth person to win the men’s 100m and 200m in a single event,

following Maurice Greene in 1999, Justin Gatlin in 2005,

Tyson Gay (both in the United States) and Bolt in 2007.


Bolt, who holds world records in men’s 100m 9.58 seconds and 200m 19.19 seconds,

won three gold medals (100m, 200m, 400m relay) in Berlin in 2009,

Moscow in 2013 and Beijing in 2015.

At the 2011 Daegu Games, she was disqualified for a false start in the 100m,

only won gold medals in the 200m and 400m relay.

Bolt retired after the World Championships in London in 2017, and in London in 2017,

Doha in 2019, and Eugene in 2022, there were no two gold medals in individual sprints.

The ‘Post Bolt Competition’ also continued.

However, Lyles was recognized in Budapest as ‘heir to Bolt’.

In an interview with the World Association of Athletics Federations and the Associated Press after the race.

Lyles said, “It feels good to be mentioned alongside Bolt, whom I respect.”

After crossing the finish line, he held a ceremony by spreading two fingers,

which means two gold medals in the competition,

“I wanted to show that I am different, and I proved it by winning gold medals in the 100m and 200m.”

but today I was faster.”

Lyles will challenge for three gold medals in the men’s 400m relay,

which will be held on the 27th in Korean time.

In the men’s 200m final, Irian Knighton (19, USA) came second with 19.75 seconds,

LeChile Tebogo (20, Botswana) came third with 19.81 seconds.

Knighton, who finished third in this event at last year’s Eugene Games,

raised her ranking by one notch, and Tebogo earned her second medal in this event following the 100m (2nd place with 9.88 seconds).

Sherica Jackson

Sherica Jackson (29, Jamaica) set a new event record of 21.41 seconds and won her second consecutive women’s 200m title.

Jackson defended her Jamaican athletics pride by breaking her meet record (21.45) and her own best in her Eugene last year.

She also brushed off her regrets for placing second in her two consecutive events in the 100m (Eugene in 2022 and Budapest in 2023).

Gabriel Thomas (27, USA), who studied neurobiology and international health at Harvard University and is pursuing a master’s degree in infectious diseases at the University of Texas at Austin,

finished second with 21 seconds and 81 seconds. Shacari Richardson (23, USA),

who won the 100 m, took third place with 21 seconds and 92 seconds.

Jackson said, “I ran a really good race today.

My main event was 400m before, but I’m doing better in 200m and 100m.” .

The women’s 200m world record is 21.34 seconds set by Florence Griffith Jr. (USA) at the 1988 Seoul Olympics.

Jackson approached Griffith Jr.’s record by 0.07 seconds.

“I’m going to keep running and I’m going to do my best to stay at my current level,”

Jackson said, although she says she “doesn’t think about breaking world records when I’m actually racing.”

Julimar Rojas (27, Venezuela) performed a thrilling comeback and succeeded in winning her fourth straight women’s triple jump.

Lohas, who committed fouls three times until the 5th period and stayed in 8th place with the highest record of 14m33,

jumped 15m08 in the last 6th period, beating Marina Bech-Romanchuk (28, Ukraine) of 15m00 by 8cm to win the championship.

Rojas said, “It was a really difficult match.

I won the last attempt and it will be more memorable” said.

Kitaguchi Haruka

Kitaguchi Haruka (25, Japan) also succeeded in a come-from-behind turn in the final round and reached the top of the women’s javelin throw.

It was Kitaguchi, who was third with 63m00 until the 5th period, threw 66m73 in the 6th period,

pushing Flor Lewis (32, Colombia) of 65m47.

Mackenzie Little (26, Australia), who threw 63m38 in the 6th period, won the bronze medal.

Kelsey-Lee Barber (31, Australia), who won two consecutive victories in this event in Doha in 2019 and Eugene in 2022, finished seventh with 61m19.

Kitaguchi, who became the first Japanese women’s javelin thrower to medal at the World Championships by placing third in Eugene last year, won a gold medal in Budapest.

“Today I am the happiest person in the world,” Kitaguchi said in an interview with Chunichi Sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *